SUPER HAPPY GENKI HYPERFORCE GO!

My first non-H!P post!

Posted on: August 24, 2008

So, there’s not really a whole lot going on in the H!P-verse right now. (Goto Maki’s back, yay. Aibon continues to be cuter than 90% of the population of Earth, yay. Both are ex-H!P, so… Berryz is about to release a Tartar sauce or something remix of Genghis Khan which I will totally listen to because I love that song even if I can’t spell the “Japanese” version of the name.) Therefore, I’ll talk about something else near and dear to me: dorama!

I started out on “Nobuta wo Produce”. To be honest, before that? I’d barely even heard of any of the people in it… not even NEWS or KAT-TUN or even Johnny’s, really. I was… sheltered, I guess. But, several people recommended it to me, so I gave it a shot. I started with the second episode since my torrent was slow for the first, and I eventually grew kind of obsessed with the show. I’ll give myself a “NOBUTA POWER!” every now and again and the image of pigs has never been the same since. It’s such a heart-warming show, and… YamaPi! I love his character, and I’ve really begun to like him as an actor.

My second drama? Coffee Prince, though it’s Korean rather than Japanese. I remember seeing one person briefly mention the existence of the show in a blog and I searched it out in a fit of boredom. It’s kind of weird and random at first, but the male lead is super-hot, and it’s a very thought-provoking show on the topic of gender and gender identity. The music is also pretty good.

I’ve seen bits and pieces of things here and there since those two shows, but nothing that really caught my eye. I’ve tried the Waterboys series since I liked the movie, but it wasn’t as cohesive. I’ve tried both Hana-Kimi’s, but I like the manga better. I’ve tried both Hana Yori Dango’s, but I’d rather read the manga or watch the anime.

I’m even in a dorama-share group on Livejournal (where you can find me as mmmdraco). I joined it looking for episodes of Yamada Taro Monogatari (another great heart-warming show, though the female lead is more annoying than most to me, and the “gay” subplot that pops up feels very awkward), and stayed for the access to other things I might want to see.

I’ve watched Lunch Queen. It was mostly for YamaPi and omurice. The main character’s nose annoyed me because it looks like Ayaya’s from H!P. But, the food looks yummy and there are a lot of good parts to it. (This show prompted me to learn to make omurice which has become a favorite thing to make with leftovers from Asian meals.)

Lately, though, I’ve *really* been on a dorama kick! I noticed that CODE BLUE has, well, YamaPi in it, and next thing I know? I’m hooked. I love House M.D. on American TV, and CB shares a lot of aspects with it. Also, I buy YamaPi in his role. Every time. I lose myself in his performance. (But I still don’t listen to NEWS. I’ll download his solo tracks and single releases, though.) This series also has Todo Erika, but I find that she really only plays annoying well, though I do find her likeable sometimes. (I tried out Gal Circle for her and Yaguchi Mari, but the story was way too lame for me.)

Another show I’ve been trying to finish off lately is Haruka 17. I saw a recommendation for it when someone was asking about makeover-based dorama and gave it a chance. I’m halfway through the second to last episode and stagnating. The main character quite often looks like Koharu from MoMusu when she’s “done-up”, and occasionally like a cross between Niigaki and Charmy when she’s not. The series was charming at first, but dropped off near the end. Hopefully I’ll be able to pull myself back into it since I hardly have any left.

I’m sure there’s other good stuff I’ve seen at least some of, but these are all things I enjoyed at least a majority of that I can think of right now.

I’ll likely be looking for more series to watch soon as I did ask for a lot of recommendations for series about food as well as medical doramas. I just learned Team Medical Dragon got two seasons. I think I’m already sold. (Again, manga.)

And, just as a note, I may cover anime/manga topics on here occasionally. I do own over 600 volumes of manga and a substantial collection of anime as well, and that’s not including the gigs upon gigs of things I’ve downloaded and the tons of stuff I’ve borrowed from friends. ^_~

Tags:

Leave a Reply

